South African hockey enthusiasts are looking forward to watching our SA Under-21 Women’s team participate in the 2016 Women’s Junior World Cup, taking place from 24 November to 4 December in Santiago, Chile.

Held every four years, the tournament aims to expose talented young players to the international hockey circuit. The international tournament consists of 16 teams, divided into four pools battling it out for a spot in the quarterfinals.


Pool A Pool B Pool C Pool D
Korea Argentina Australia Belgium
Netherlands France Chile China
USA Germany England New Zealand
Zimbabwe Japan South Africa Spain


SA Under-21 Women’s Team

The SA Under-21 Women’s Hockey team coach, Patrick Tshutshani, has been through a vigorous selection procedure, over a number of camps, testing for consistency over time. Tshutshani recently announced the names of the players lined-up to participate in the 2016 Women’s Junior World Cup.

Name Age Position Province
Amy Etherington 19 Defender Northern Gauteng
Antonet Louw 20 Striker Free State
Christine Seggie 19 Defender Western Province
Dani Cairns 20 Striker Western Province
Donna Small 21 Striker KwaZulu-Natal
Gretchin Davids 19 Striker Western Province
Kristen Paton 19 Utility Southern Gauteng
Marguerite van Wyk 20 Striker Northern Gauteng
Marlise van Tonder 19 Goalkeeper Northern Gauteng
Marizen Marais 19 Midfield Southern Gauteng
Natalie Esteves 20 Defender Northern Gauteng
Nthabi Maine 19 Striker Southern Gauteng
Ongeziwe Mali 17 Striker Eastern Province
Sandisiwe Tabata 17 Midfield Eastern Province
Shindre-Lee Simmons 19 Defender Free State
Sisipho Magwaza 17 Defender Southern Gauteng
Tarryn Glasby 21 Striker Western Province
Tegan Fourie 17 Midfield KwaZulu-Natal
Alegra Dijkstra 21 Midfield Western Province
Marissa Poolman 20 Midfield Northern Gauteng


Diarize this now to make sure you don’t miss out on what is likely to be a fierce competition! Good luck to our ladies!